Meeting of the Commission on Enhancing National Cybersecurity


The Commission on Enhancing National Cybersecurity met on Tuesday, June 21, 2016, at the University of California, Berkeley, at the Chevron Auditorium at the International House.

The primary purpose of the meeting was to discuss the opportunities for and challenges to innovation and collaboration to strengthen cybersecurity in the digital economy.

Audio recordings of this event are available below. You can also read a summary of the event here.

The meeting aimed to support detailed recommendations to strengthen cybersecurity in both the public and private sectors while protecting privacy, ensuring public safety and economic and national security, fostering discovery and development of new technical solutions, and bolstering partnerships between Federal, State, local, tribal and territorial governments and the private sector in the development, promotion, and use of cybersecurity technologies, policies, and best practices.

This event was part of the Department of Commerce’s work convening the Commission on Enhancing National Cybersecurity. The Commission is hosting five public meetings around the country to solicit input on various themes for their final report to the President later this year. The non-partisan Commission on Enhancing National Cybersecurity is made up of leading thinkers from business, technology, and academia. The Commission’s members are:

— Tom Donilon, former Assistant to the President and National Security Advisor (Chair)

— Sam Palmisano, former CEO, IBM (Vice Chair)

— General Keith Alexander, CEO, IronNet Cybersecurity; former Director, National Security Agency; and former Commander, U.S. Cyber Command

— Annie Antón, Professor and Chair, School of Interactive Computing at Georgia Tech

— Ajay Banga, President and CEO, MasterCard

— Steven Chabinsky, General Counsel and Chief Risk Officer, CrowdStrike

— Patrick Gallagher, Chancellor, University of Pittsburgh;former Director, National Institute of Standards and Technology

— Peter Lee, Corporate Vice President, Microsoft Research

— Herbert Lin, Senior Research Scholar for Cyber Policy and Security, Stanford Center for International Security and Cooperation; Research Fellow, Hoover Institution

— Heather Murren, former member, Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission; co-founder, Nevada Cancer Institute

— Joe Sullivan, Chief Security Officer, Uber; former Chief Security Officer, Facebook

— Maggie Wilderotter, Executive Chairman, Frontier Communications

As described in an announcement from the White House, “The Commission is tasked with making detailed recommendations on actions that can be taken over the next decade to enhance cybersecurity awareness and protections throughout the private sector and at all levels of Government, to protect privacy, to ensure public safety and economic and national security, and to empower Americans to take better control of their digital security.”

Audio Recordings



9:00am-9:05am: Welcome

Betsy Cooper, Executive Director, Center for Long-Term Cybersecurity, UC Berkeley

Nils Gilman, Associate Chancellor, UC Berkeley

9:05am-9:15am: Meeting Opening and Remarks

Thomas E. Donilon, Commission Chair

Samuel J. Palmisano, Commission ViceChair

9:15am–10:45am: Panel 1: Addressing Security Challenges to the Digital Economy

Geoff Belknap, CISO, Slack

Patrick Heim, Chief Trust Officer, Dropbox

Hemma Prafullchandra, EVP and Chief Technology Officer, Products, HyTrust

Alex Stamos, CISO, Facebook

10:45am–11:00am: Break

11:00am–12:30pm: Panel 2: Collaborating to Secure the Digital Economy

Thomas Andriola, Vice President & CIO, University of California System

Dr. Cynthia Dwork, Distinguished Scientist, Microsoft Research

Eric Grosse, Vice President, Security Engineering, Google

Eli Sugarman, Cyber Initiative Program Officer, The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation

12:30pm–1:30pm: Lunch (self-provided)

1:30pm– 3:00pm: Panel 3: Innovating to Secure the Future of the Digital Economy

Gilman Louie, Partner, Alsop Louie Partners, former CEO, In-Q-Tel

Mark McLaughlin, Chair, National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee (NSTAC); Chairman, President and CEO, Palo Alto Networks

Ted Schlein, Managing Partner, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers (KPCB)

3:00pm–3:15pm: Public Comment

3:15pm–3:30pm: Center for Long-Term Cybersecurity (CLTC) Briefing

Steven Weber, Professor (School of Information and Department of Political Science), UC Berkeley

3:30pm– 5:00pm: Commission Discussion

Additional information can be found at https:///